Newsletter June 2023


The Hall of Fame is seeking nominations for the next Induction Class. The deadline for nominations is September 30th, 2023. On the link below you will find the rules for election and the nomination form.

If you have questions please contact President – Darrell Dempster at 902-476-0633. The successful applicants will be honored in the fall of 2024.

The Sackville Sports Heritage Hall of Fame Society was pleased to announce in May the 2023 Inductees into the Sackville Sports Heritage Hall of Fame.

The inductees are: Athlete – Paula O’Connell/Arm Wrestling, Athlete – Chris Scott/Arm Wrestling, Builder-Coach – Darrell Dempster/Athletics, Builder Official – Gord Dwyer/Hockey, Builder Coach – Shawn Healey/Gymnastics, Builder Coach – Pat Henneberry/Basketball, Builder Coach – Mike Lidestone/Wrestling

An induction ceremony will be held on Wednesday, October 4th, 2023.


Athletes (27) Paula O’Connell, Chris Scott, Derrick Dempster, Hannah Hubley, Leslie Ann Young, Danial Murphy, Rick Pinkney, Daniel J Romo, Bernard (Bernie)Bishop, Jillian D’Alessio, Paul Sheppard. Lewis Kelly Jr,Sarah Bray, Eileen Burke, Gladie (Mosher) Turple, James Blood, Nicolle Gillis, David Pinkney*, Kim Vanderhoek, Wayne E Gordon, Jeri Sharkey, Lisa (Carberry) Rowe, Ross Raymond Sampson, Scott Edward Kelly, Frank McMahon, Garnet Sydney Cooke, Robert Douglas Pevrill.

Builders (35) Darrell Dempster, Gord Dwyer, Shawn Healey, Pat Henneberry, Mike Lidstone, Derrick Brooks, Bill MacDonald, Rob Morgan, Stehen Lane, Kevin Ross, Dr. Patricia (Benoit) Chafe, Donald J Syms, Larry Marchand, Hubert Earle*, Bud Bremner, Ray Ivany, George H Matthews, Ken Faulkner, Lake District Recreation Association, Hugh MacDonald, Barbara Ann Slaunwhite, Robert Eldon Bayard, John (Jim) Collins, Glen Slaunwhite, Herman H Wills, Les Mayo, Ken Barrett, Doug Mitchell, Bill Aresenault, John Speardakes, Alison Arsenault, Bill Chase, Greta Marina Gordon, Pauline Stanick, Taylor Gordon*

*Also members of the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame.

Teams (10) – Sackville Under 18 Mens Wrestling 2013, Sackville Baseball Little League All-stars 1971, Sackville Bantam Acadians 1985-86, Millwood Knights 2011-12, Sackville High Kingfishers 1992-93, Sackville Chiefs 2012, Sackville Jr. B Blazers 2011, Sackville Acadians Softball 1983, Sackville Jr. C Blazers 1977, Sackville Scooters 2002.


President: Darrell Dempster, Past President: Hubert Earle, Vice President: Ann Louise Kerr, Secretary: Steve Ferguson, Treasurer: Ross Sampson, Fund-raising: Glen Reid, Chris Sperdakes, Members at Large: Darrell Jessome, Wayde Lively, Adam Lucas, Crystal Spence, Samantha Pashkoski.

President, Darrell Dempster and Vice-President Ann Louise Kerr were pleased to attend Rec Day at the Sackville Sports Stadium on June 15th.


The Board is pleased the Hall of Fame Wall will soon include the upper portion of the wall above the current display space. This area will be home to artifacts and memorabilia from the inductees. The first item to be installed will be Gladie Turple’s 1998 Canadian National Team Ringette Jersey! Please contact Adam Lucas; if you can donate items to the cabinets or the upper wall.


A committee is currently developing a partner fund raising model. The new model will be released in September. It will include Gold, Silver, Bronze and Friends of the Hall levels of opportunities for business and individuals to support the Sackville Sports Heritage Hall of Fame Society.

For information please check out:
Or check us on Facebook; Sackville Sports Heritage Hall of Fame Society.