Opening newly renovated Sackville Sports Heritage Hall of Fame

The Executive Board of Governors of the Sackville Sports Heritage Hall of Fame Society on October 23, 2019 celebrated the opening of the newly renovated Sackville Sports Heritage Hall of Fame.

Over eighty current inductees, family members, sponsors and donors attended the event. The evening started off with light refreshments and a cash bar provided by the Sackville Kinsmen. Hubert Earle, President of the Society, addressed the group and introduced the guest speaker.

The guest speaker Bruce Rainnie President and CEO of the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame addressed the gathering.

Bruce Rannie ED of NS Sport Hall of Fame

At the conclusion of the evening the group took time to view the wall:

Viewing the wall

The Executive Board would like to thank the following:

Donors/Sponsors – HRM Councillors-Steve Craig – District 15 and Lisa Blackburn – District 14, After Warranty Automotive, Barrett Lumber Co, Anthony and Ann Benson, Chebucto Track and Field Club, Jim Clark, East Coast Credit Union, Faders Bottle Exchange, Harvest Beer Wine Spirits, Hellas Restaurant, 2334438 Nova Scotia Ltd. Ideal Kitchen, Jessome and Associates, Kiezer’s Automotive, Lakeshore Curling Club, Mainview Investigation Services, Medicine Shop, Mr. Rooter Plumbing, Nedtec, Sackville Kinsmen, Sackville Legion, Sackville Lions Club, Scott’s Automotive.

Suppliers – The Sackville Sports Stadium, Maritime Window Film Specialists, McKenna Electric, Nova Trophy and Lachance Signs

Individuals Companies interested in becoming donors/sponsors please contact Glen Reid at

Current Inductees include:

Athletes (20) – Daniel J Romo, Bernard (Bernie)Bishop, Jillian D’Alessio, Paul Sheppard. Lewis Kelly Jr,Sarah Bray, Eileen Burke, Gladie (Mosher) Turple, James Blood, Nicolle Gillis, David Pinkney*, Kim Vanderhoek, Wayne E Gordon, Jeri Sharkey, Lisa (Carberry) Rowe, Ross Raymond Sampson, Scott Edward Kelly, Frank McMahon, Garnet Sydney Cooke, Robert Douglas Pevrill.

Builders (25) – Dr. Patricia (Benoit) Chafe, Donald J Syms, Larry Marchand, Hubert Earle*, Bud Bremner, Ray Ivany, George H Matthews, Ken Fauulkner, Lake District Recreation Association, Hugh MacDonald, Barbara Ann Slaunwhite, Robert Eldon Bayard, John (Jim) Collins, Glen Slaunwhite, Herman H Wills, Les Mayo, Ken Barrett, Doug Mitchell, Bill Aresenault, John Speardakes, Alison Arsenault, Bill Chase, Greta Marina Gordon, Pauline Stanick, Taylor Gordon*-*Also members of the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame.

Teams (8) – Sackville Bantam Acadians 1985-86, Millwood Knights 2011-12, Sackville High Kingfishers 1992-93, Sackville Chiefs 2012, Sackville Jr. B Blazers 2011, Sackville Acadians Softball 1983, Sackville Jr. C Blazers 1977, Sackville Scooters 2002.



Next Induction Ceremony:

The Hall of Fame is seeking nominations for the next Induction Ceremony scheduled for early in 2020.